Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2017

I’ve had a pretty great month of reading, completing 7 books and rating only one of them below four stars. Personally though, it has been a somewhat trying month. I developed an allergic reaction to an unknown trigger and the prescription my doctor gave me worked to get rid of the swelling and hives, but had some side effects of its own. Mostly it left me feeling exhausted, so my reviewing definitely suffered.

I’m back to normal now though and hoping May will be more successful for me both in terms of my health and in terms of blogging on a more regular schedule!

123632s

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden  small 4 half stars + Review
Vicious by V.E. Schwab  small 4 stars + Review
Pachinko by Min Jin Lee  small 5 stars + Review
Swing Time by Zadie Smith  small 4 stars + Review
Sonora by Hannah Lillith Assadi  small-2-stars + Review
Twelve Angry Men by Reginald Rose  small 4 half stars + Review
Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie  small 4 half stars + Review

Book of the Month: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee – Fabulous historical fiction shedding light on a period and time I knew nothing about, with some of the most likable characters I’ve come across. I didn’t want it to end!

Runner-Up: The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden – Is book two out yet? I loved the gorgeous prose and rich setting of this Russian folk-tale inspired historical fantasy and the characters, particularly Vanya, are wonderful. I can’t wait to continue their adventures!

I really loved Ancillary Sword though, and if I hadn’t such as a solid month in reading it would definitely be up there! It’s only narrowly edged out by The Bear and the Nightingale.

Least Favourite: Sonora by Hannah Lillith Assadi –

Seen on Stage: Spoon River (play) at Soulpepper – Review

Have you read any of these? What did you think? What were your best and worst reads of the month?

3 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2017

    1. Thanks! I was a little surprised at how much I loved almost everything I read this month. I hope you enjoy Vicious, I thought it was great and I’m really glad that there’s a sequel in the works!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

