The Greek Gods Book Tag

My friends Rachel @ pace, amore, libri tagged me in this meme, which was created by Zuky @ The Book Bum! As a huge fan of Greek mythology, I couldn’t resist! I’m not going to tag anyone specifically, but if you see this and feel like doing it, please consider yourself tagged.

Rules by Zuky:

  • Pingback to me here so I can read all your posts!!
  • You can use my graphics if ya like, but you don’t have to if you don’t want to
  • Tag as many people as you want, but please, share the love

Zeus: King of the Gods – your favourite book

24280

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo: The great reader dilemma is trying to choose just one favourite book, but when pressed my answer is Les Misérables. It’s definitely not an easy read and yes, I think at times Hugo could have used an editor, but it’s a beautiful moving story with lovely language and it remains as powerful today as it was when it was written. I’ve only read the unabridged Les Misérables once so far, but I will definitely read it again in my lifetime.

Hera: Queen of the Gods – a badass female character

21416690The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman: Irene is a professional spy for an organization called the Library, which harvests fiction from different realities. Armed with minimal knowledge and a new apprentice, the enigmatic Kai, she must retrieve a dangerous book from an alternate London that is chaos-infused, meaning the laws of nature are bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic. Along the way she finds that her objective is more dangerous than she was led to believe, and Irene must use all of her wits, her grasp on The Language, and her practical nature to obtain the book and successfully complete her mission. I’m partial to anything with librarians, let alone spy librarians with the added bonuses of grammar and magic. Irene is a fabulous character and the librarian I could never in my wildest dreams be, but I sure would love to be like this badass bookworm!

Janus: God of Beginnings – your favourite debut(s)

112077The Game of Kings by Dorothy Dunnett: Not just one of my favourite debuts, but one of my favourite books and favourite series of all time, Dorothy Dunnett’s Lymond Chronicles captured me four-and-a-half years ago and haven’t let go since. Dunnett makes her readers work, throwing them in headfirst and including untranslated medieval poetry and obscure quotes in other languages, but from the first ten pages, in which the mysterious Lymond sneaks back into Edinburgh, gets a pig drunk, and breaks into his sister-and-law’s castle, I was hooked. Reportedly Ms. Dunnett complained to her husband that she had run out of the types of books like she liked to read and he suggested that she write something herself. The Game of Kings, the first in the six book Lymond series, was the result! Dunnett’s works have also inspired a lot of other writers.

Athena: Goddess of Wisdom – your favourite non-fiction book

991775William Pitt the Younger by William Hague: Confession time: I read very little non-fiction. I have good intentions and buy the books but they sit unread on my shelf. However, I have an interest in history and that means a favourite historical figure. I find William Pitt the Younger absolutely fascinating. This eighteenth century British Prime Minister was the youngest to become Prime Minister (at age 24 in 1783) and was ridiculed by the opposition for his youth, but he is also one of the longest serving Prime Ministers. Something of an enigma, he was a brilliant speaker who had a gift for oratory and the ability to always choose exactly the right word. He was warm and kind to his close circle of friends and to his family, but was seen as solitary, cold, and aloof in the House of Commons. Although I can’t say that I know much about or agree with his politics, Hague, formerly the British Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, has written a very readable and well-written biography of a fascinating political figure who guided Britain during a difficult period. Unlike previous biographies of Pitt, this is an account readable by non-historians and Pitt is an interesting figure who deserves to be known.

Aphrodite: Goddess of Love – a book you adore and recommend everyone read (other than your favourite book!)

10nyuisAll the Light We Cannot see by Anthony Doerr: I don’t even tend to like WWII stories, but All the Light We Cannot See is just that stunning a book. I’ve given it as a gift, I’ve recommended it to friends, and it’s one of those books where my face lights up when I see someone else reading it. It’s deeply moving and actually made me cry (a rare feat for books!), and I found Doerr’s language absolutely beautiful. I love that it tells the story of another set of viewpoints in WWII, that of the children in blind Marie-Laure, a French girl, and Werner, a German boy. I would definitely recommend this to just about everyone, regardless of their reading tastes.

Hades: God of the Underworld – an evil book you wish didn’t exist

15839976Red Rising by Pierce Brown: I don’t know what else there is so say about this book that Rachel hasn’t already said, or that we haven’t discussed in the comment section on her Greek Gods post. I read it to see what all the fuss was about and I’m baffled. The misogyny is such that it feels like a betrayal when authors I love endorse this series on goodreads. Every woman is a love interest or exists only to further the male characters. Darrow is one of the biggest Gary-Stus around, and yet despite being almost perfect in every way, I found him really really arrogant and unlikable. The writing style is poor and feels like it was written with the aim of being a Michael Bay movie one day. I really didn’t like this book.

Poseidon: God of the Sea & Earthquakes – a beautiful & ground-breaking book

barucormorantThe Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson: Beautiful and ground-breaking fits this book well. It’s one of a few books (along with Robert Jackson Bennett’s Divine Cities series and anything by N.K. Jemisin) that I recommend to anyone looking for something fresh and diverse in the fantasy genre. Dickinson’s language is often beautiful and certainly the story and the choices Baru must make and what she must give up in order to move closer to her goal of dismantling the empire that colonized her home world are fascinating but also difficult to read. The book is unflinching in its portrait of how imperialism works and the impacts to the colonized.

Apollo: God of the Arts – a beautiful book cover

22055262The Shades of Magic series by V.E. Schwab: I LOVE the cover design for this trilogy. The colour scheme matching the 4 Londons (Red, Black, Grey, and White), the art that includes part of the map of London’s streets in it, and the stylized design of the characters and concepts is just gorgeous. Vivid, unique, and playful, it’s very appropriate for this fast-paced series about magic and travel between worlds.

Hypnos: God of Sleep – a book so boring you almost fell asleep

59716To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf: It turns out Virgina Woolf’s To The Lighthouse is the cure for my insomnia. I tried twice to read the book, and each time made it 20 pages before I realized that I hadn’t taken in more than the first few pages. After two tries I DNF’ed the book, one of very few times that I’ve done that.

Hermes: Messenger of the Gods – a book you sped through

15q8eafThe Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden: I’m typically a commute reader so something has to really grab me for me to do a lot of reading on the weekend. Well, I read The Bear and the Nightingale over a single weekend it was so engrossing. I loved the lyrical prose, the historical fiction story set in medieval Rus’, the brave and wild but compassionate heroine, and the folktale/fairytale touches. This was such a magical read and I can’t wait for more from this author.

10 thoughts on “The Greek Gods Book Tag

    1. It was really fun to do, thanks for coming up with it! I hope you enjoy the Bear and the Nightingale! Don’t worry, I got both of your comments! I think it’s set to await approval the first time a new person comments, and then after they they go through, but I’ve been having some issues with the app so I get the e-mail notifications about comments and likes, but I have to wait until I’m on my laptop after work to approve them at the moment. Thank you for checking though!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay see I feel like Lymond needs to be taken as a series though. Like the individual books are great and my favourite changes depending on each re-read, but singular book and influence on me it’s Les Mis. Dorothy Dunnett is my favourite author and Lymond is my favourite series though!

      Like

  1. Such a cool tag… I loved your answers… but none more than your Red Rising thoughts, lol. I’ve read mixed reviews and it really is a mess of a book! You are not alone, believe me… 😎

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

