The One Lovely Blog Award

onelovelyblog

I was recently nominated by Aditi at Readers Rule for this award. Thank you so much! I really appreciate the love and it’s wonderful to bring book bloggers together and find new friends through these kinds of posts.

11l0upk

  • Thank the person that nominated you and leave a link to their blog.
  • Post about the award.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate at most 15 people.
  • Tell your nominees they’ve been nominated for one lovely award.

2h64k2e

1. I have a major sweet tooth. I love desserts, especially chocolate, and my favourite special occasion treat is a sugary Canadian creation called a Nanaimo bar!

2. Like many readers, I am a big tea drinker. My favourites tend to be flavoured black teas, like rhubarb cream, or blackcurrant, but I’ll drink most teas with one exception – I’m with V.E. Schwab and come down firmly on the anti-Earl Grey side of the great tea twitter debate!

3. I don’t have a green thumb at all, in fact I’ve even killed a cactus before, but I do love flowers. My favourites are pansies, because they’re so bright and cheerful and bloom early in the season so they’re a splash of colour after a dull winter, and poinsettias, because I associate them with Christmas, my favourite holiday.

4. I’m a big supporter of my local library (Toronto Public Library) and tend to get most of my reads from there. It definitely helps that I live in a big city with one of the world’s busiest library systems though.

5. My favourite city is London, England. I’ve been three times so far and I absolutely love the history, culture, architecture, and atmosphere of the city. I really like Toronto and my country and I don’t think I would want to live anywhere else permanently, but if I could live anywhere in the world for a year, it would be London.

6. I took singing lessons, first in a group musical theatre class, and then in private voice lessons all through high school, but I gave it up when I went to university and I regret not continuing.

7. My favourite plays of all-time are Oscar Wilde’s The Importance of Being Earnest (the muffins scene makes me laugh every single time), and Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing. But recently I really enjoyed Of Human Bondage and I loved the book and film versions of Twelve Angry Men and hope to see a production of it one day.

1qnamg

Rachel at pace, amore, libri
Hadeer at Hadeer Writes
A Book Without End
Katie at Read With Katie
Dani at Perspective of a Writer

7 thoughts on “The One Lovely Blog Award

  1. I didn’t know you took singing lessons! That’s amazing and I’m jealous! Ugh I wish I could sing but I’m so tone deaf.

    OMG I can’t believe you’re anti-Earl Grey!!!! This is fascinating and tragic to me!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did! I did a few different types of dance (modern and national, which was folk dances and dances from countries around the world) and musical theatre for several years, but it was always the singing I loved so I took private voice lessons in high school singing a variety of songs from musicals and pop songs mostly. I was pretty decent, not outstanding but I had a nice voice, and I found it very stress relieving although I was super shy about anyone else hearing me. I’ve lost all ability now though, and if I could do it over again I would have kept at it.

      Lol, yep I’m not a fan!! Something about the bergamot just doesn’t taste great to me!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Omg, that’s all so cool!!! I swear I’m like one of the only people in the theatre fandom who has essentially no performing background.

        Ditto the if I could do it over I’d have stuck with it thing – I so wish I’d stuck with piano!!!!

        Like

    1. Yay hatred of Earl Grey! I hadn’t really thought about it much until the YA authors on twitter started taking sides and I realized that Earl Grey seems to be almost as divisive as cilantro!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

