Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2017

After the fabulous month of reading I had in April, May was a bit of a disappointment. The majority of the six books I read were enjoyable reads in the three to three-and-a-half star range, with only two books I gave four stars. I’m definitely hoping that June will be a better month for me!

I was hoping to review Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray, which I really enjoyed and gave a solid four stars, but I’m having a busy couple of weeks and have contracted the summer cold that’s going around here, so not this month.

May17

City of Miracles by Robert Jackson Bennett small 4 stars + Review
Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde small 3 half stars + Review
The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu  small-3-stars + Review
The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli small 3 half stars + Review
Ninefox Gambit by Yoon Ha Lee small 3 half stars + Review
Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray small 4 stars

Book of the Month: City of Miracles by Robert Jackson Bennett – Although I didn’t love it as much as the first two books of the trilogy, this is a worthy conclusion that offers closure to the characters we know and love.

Runner-Up: Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray – This exactly the kind of sci-fi I enjoy, a meditation on what makes us human that also touches on subjects of the environment, politics, and class, and features likable dynamic characters in Abel and Noemi.

Least Favourite: The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu – It’s a great book, it just wasn’t a great book for me. A little more science than I like in my sci-fi and without well developed characters and an engaging plot to make up for it.

Have you read any of these? What did you think? What were your best and worst reads of the month?

Seen on Stage:
The mediocre reading month was made up by a fabulous month of Toronto theatre. Onegin and La Bohème were both amazing, and I can’t recommend them highly enough:

Onegin (musical) by the Musical Stage Company (x2) – Review
La Bohème (opera) by Against the Grain Theatre – Review
Porgy & Bess in Concert by Soulpepper

I hope everyone has a wonderful June!

 

2 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2017

Leave a Reply

