T5W: Books for Your Hogwarts House

Ravenclaw_Crest_1 (1)
Or yet in wise old Ravenclaw,
If you’ve a ready mind,
Where those of wit and learning,
Will always find their kind.

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is Books For Your Hogwarts House and yes, you guessed it, this Librarian is a proud Ravenclaw! Like many book bloggers I suspect, I have always loved books and learning. I pursued first an undergraduate degree in English, and then a graduate degree in library and information science, and I value and admire creativity and intelligence in others.

This winter my parents and I visited the Wizarding World of Harry Potter for the first time. Before we went, all of us took the house percentage quizzes and it turns out we’re a family of Ravenclaws (except for my brother, a Slytherin)!

Without further ado, here are the five books I think represent Ravenclaw well:

JonathanStrange1. Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke
When I began to consider books that represent Ravenclaw, Susanna Clarke’s historical fantasy about English magic during the Napoleonic Wars immediately came to mind. Although magical history and theory is studied, practical magic is believed to be long dead, until the reclusive Mr. Norrell reveals his ability. He becomes a celebrity overnight, and takes on a student in another practicing magician, the young and dashing Jonathan Strange, but their differences in style strain the partnership.

Why should Ravenclaws read it?
Obviously the subject matter, the history and revival of English magic, is a perfect fit for the intellectually curious Ravenclaw, and readers will enjoy Jonathan Strange’s somewhat unconventional uses of magic. The author’s wit has been compared to Jane Austen, and this well-researched novel even includes footnotes about the history of magic and texts for further study!

1226382. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde
Oscar Wilde is surely synonymous with the word wit by now, and for good reason! My favourite work of his has to be the brilliant comedic play, The Importance of Being Earnest, which satirizes Victorian ways. Featuring mistaken identities, double lives, and a misplaced handbag, this popular farce is well worth a read.

Why should Ravenclaws read it?
Although the play is over a century old, it still manages to be funny and the infamous scene with the muffins always makes me laugh. Wilde’s works are perfect for the Ravenclaw reader who values “wit beyond measure” as man’s greatest treasure.

162993. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
Although I enjoy a good mystery, I have to admit that I’m one of those people who rarely puts it all together before the end. Because of this, I have immense respect for anyone who can write an engaging mystery, and Agatha Christie is the master of this genre. I haven’t read many of her books yet, but I found And Then There Were None, a story where ten strangers summoned as weekend guests to a private island begin to be killed off until there is no one left, incredibly atmospheric and clever.

Why should Ravenclaws read it?
Christie shows ingenuity in bringing all of the characters’ deaths in line with the ten little soldiers poem. The way in which she paints a psychological portrait of each of these people with a dark secret and the way she keeps the reader guessing until the very end with red herrings and plot twists is brilliant to read and sure to draw admiration from the Ravenclaw reader.

ioj8xt4. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
Station Eleven is one of my favourite books. It’s perhaps a more controversial Ravenclaw choice, but I love the central theme in this soft post-apocalyptic novel, “because survival is insufficient”. I feel like it’s a very Ravenclaw concept, this idea that civilization and life is more than just getting by and surviving, there has to be a preservation of art and knowledge and a purpose to existence. This is demonstrated in the ways in which the characters carry on after the world as they know it ends. Kristen joins the travelling symphony as an actress, performing Shakespeare with its enduring appeal, to survivors of the pandemic. Clark opens the museum of civilization at the airport to preserve the way of life before and hold objects that no longer have any practical use, like high heels and a motorcycle, and a minor character begins printing a newspaper.

Why should Ravenclaws read it?
Station Eleven features culture and creativity and preservation of knowledge, told through beautiful prose in a story that is completely unique in setting the action during the pandemic, in its first days, and then fifteen years, entirely skipping the early days following the end of the world and the mayhem and brutality to tell a story about the new culture that begins to emerge and hope for the future.

2983175. Sandman by Neil Gaiman
(Art by Sam Kieth, Mike Dringenberg, and Malcolm Jones III)
I was a little stuck on exactly which Neil Gaiman book belongs on this list, but ultimately went for his critically acclaimed Sandman graphic novels. For me, Sandman (and Neil Gaiman in general) represent that wildly imaginative, original, and eccentric part of Ravenclaw, much like Luna Lovegood. The Sandman comics are stories about stories. They’re not always linear, they’re not always easy to understand, but they’re always incredibly creative and interesting. The stories focus on Morpheus, the anthropomorphic personification of dreams, one of seven Endless, along with Destiny, Death, Desire, Despair, Delirium–who was once Delight–and Destruction, and blend history, mythology, and horror.

Why should Ravenclaws read it?
The Sandman comics are unlike anything I’ve ever read before, and in that way represent the eccentricity and uniqueness of this house. Neil Gaiman’s brain is a fountain of original thought, which is perhaps at peak weirdness in Sandman. The series won’t be to everyone’s tastes, but it’s definitely worth checking out for the sheer imagination and creativity of the work.

Which Hogwarts house would you be in? And which books do you think represent your house?

15 thoughts on “T5W: Books for Your Hogwarts House

  1. omg I LOVE your list holy shit?? Like all of these are on my TBR?? No I reeeaaally want to read them now. And hell yeah we both put Oscar Wilde on our Ravenclaw lists :D! Hahah I love how like everyone here is Ravenclaw (probably because we’re all book nerds) ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh thank you!! I think you’d enjoy all of these books, and I’d love to hear your thoughts on them! And yesss another Oscar Wilde lover. I love that so many of us are Ravenclaws too, definitely the book nerdism lends itself to our house. 🙂

      I loved reading your list too and one of these days I will read Pillars of the Earth so I know what you and Rachel are talking about!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love these choices!! Oscar Wilde is such a Ravenclaw writer. And I love that you chose Station Eleven- one of my favorite aspects of that book is that it’s not a typical “end of the world” novel, but one where we see the world coming to rebuild itself. Very Ravenclaw-ish to me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I’m so glad that my choices and reasoning make sense! 😀 That’s what I loved about Station Eleven too, it’s such a unique book and so positive and full of hope in the end,

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Station Eleven is such an amazing book. I loved the quietness of it for being a dystopian. Like you said – it focuses more on the new culture after everything than the chaos in the initial days. Great list!

    Brianna at Listful Booking

    Liked by 1 person

      1. There are so many Ravenclaw lists and I love it! I always thought I was Ravenclaw so it was interesting having to switch gears to Gryffindor.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I don’t know what to make of the official Pottermore quizzes! I was a Ravenclaw originally, and every test since generally places me in Ravenclaw but when Pottermore revamped its quiz, it classed me as a Hufflepuff. I actually really like Hufflepuff, it’s definitely my second house, but I’ve always felt like a Ravenclaw and the Hogwarts house percentage breakdown quizzes still place me there (80% Ravenclaw, 76% Hufflepuff) so I’m going with my initial house!

        This has been such a great T5W topic though, I’ve loved seeing which Hogwarts house everyone is in!

        Like

Leave a Reply

