Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning to Start

As every reader knows, there are far too many books to read in this lifetime and the tbr list is always growing. How appropriate then that this week’s topic is the Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning to Start but Haven’t. Some of the series that made my list have been on it for years, while others are more recent additions. Whether new or old, these are all books that I hope to get to soon and that I look forward to reading…one day!

Want to join in the fun? Head on over to Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

AssasinsApprentice1. The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb
A good friend, who previously recommended a series that is now one of my all-time favourites, gave me her copies of The Farseer Trilogy before she moved to New Zealand, so I have no excuse for not starting this one! The books follow the life of Fitz, the bastard son of the noble Prince Chivalry, who becomes a trained assassin and may be the key to the survival of the kingdom. I’ve only heard good things about this series, particularly from some of the other lovely book bloggers I follow, who have started reading Hobb’s books and loved them. The Farseer Trilogy is definitely near the top of my tbr list!

1274552. The Gentlemen’s Bastards series by Scott Lynch
I’m cheating a tiny bit here because I actually picked up The Lies of Locke Lamora several years ago, read not even fifty pages, and put it back down. I can’t remember why it didn’t grab me at the time, although I vaguely remember the prose putting me off a little, but I suspect it was more a case of coming across the right book at the wrong time. These days I’m more willing to give a book a chance and to persevere when it doesn’t grab me immediately, and I know this is a series that several people I respect have enjoyed, so I’m looking forward to starting it again. From the description it seems to involve heisting, and a band of confidence men, so what’s not to like?!

DaughteroftheForest3. The Sevenwaters series by Juliet Marillier
A historical fantasy loosely based on the legend of the Children of Lir and “The Six Swans”, this series wasn’t even on my radar until earlier this year when a friend with similar taste gave the first book a rave review on goodreads. When I looked it up, it turned out several friends had also given the series five star ratings! I tend to enjoy books that feature mythology and/or folklore, and I’ve heard the first book in the series mentioned as a good choice for fans of Katherine Arden’s The Bear and the Nightingale, one of my favourite reads so far this year, so I’m definitely looking forward to trying out this series!

684284. Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson
I’m a long-time fantasy fan who devoured George R.R. Martin’s ASoIaF series (to date) along with Patrick Rothfuss’ The Kingkiller Chronicles among other doorstopper epic fantasy novels, so I feel a little like an English major who hasn’t read the great classics when I say that I’ve never read anything by Brandon Sanderson. I keep meaning to but, quite frankly, the size of his books and his back catalogue are a little intimidating. I’m not even sure if Mistborn is the ideal place to start, but at some point I would really like to read his work. I’d definitely appreciate suggestions about where to start with Sanderson though!

553995. The Malazan Book of the Fallen series by Steven Erikson
Going hand-in-hand with Brandon Sanderson is another epic fantasy great, Steven Erikson. I’ve owned a copy of the first book in the series, Gardens of the Moon, for at least a few years now, but it’s still sitting unread on my shelf. Once again I have heard such positive things about this series from friends and it’s definitely a series I want to tackle, but a case where the size of the book has been intimidating.

233956806. The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Before I started this blog I hadn’t even heard of the Illuminae Files, but the positive reviews from book blogs I follow and from friends on goodreads have pushed this one well up the tbr list. I’ve been reading a lot of science-fiction, both adult and YA, this year but these books definitely look interesting!

189523417. The Dandelion Dynasty by Ken Liu
I have to admit that the reviews I’ve heard of this series are mixed and that the main issue readers seem to have is the lack of female characters, so I’m a little on the fence about starting it, but I love the fact that it’s an Asian-influenced historical high fantasy story and I’m certainly interested enough to give it a try. I gather Liu’s short stories have been more universally acclaimed, so I may start with a collection of those before tackling a full-size novel.

213268. Fables by Bill Willingham
At least when it comes to comic books I can pinpoint exactly why I haven’t gotten to a certain series. The main factor is reading time. I tend to read on my commute, but depending on how busy work is I may also read on my lunch hour, or even after work in a park. With a comic book I’d worry about running out of material. Also, comics tend to be expensive to buy and few grab me enough that I would want to re-read them, so I often borrow them from the library and sometimes libraries don’t have all volumes of a book. All of this is a tangential way of saying that Fables is one of those comic books/graphic novels, like Saga or Sandman, that I’ve heard a lot about and have never quite gotten to. Luckily a laid-back friend (I say laid-back because she has been REALLY cool about it taking months for me to get through the issues of Saga I borrowed from her) has agreed to lend them to me whenever I’m ready, so I’ll try to get through this series soon.

187128869. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen
The Queen of the Tearling is another series that makes it onto my list, but that I have some trepidation about reading. Most of my goodreads friends have given it four or five stars, but one friend who I often share opinions with said that she hated it so much she couldn’t even be bothered wasting her words on an eloquent review explaining why it was terrible. Yikes. Still, the synopsis, about an untested young princess who must claim her throne, learn to become a queen, and combat a malevolent sorceress in an epic battle between light and darkness, sounds interesting.

2031246210. Jackaby by William Ritter
I have to admit that this is a rare case (for me) of judging a book by its cover…and liking what I saw! I don’t know much about this Victorian England-set novel about a detective of the paranormal, but it sounds interesting enough to give a try and again, how gorgeous are those covers?!

Have you read any of the series I’m on the fence about starting? What did you think, worth my time or should I pass? Any series I should move to the very top of my tbr? Please let me know in the comments!

36 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning to Start

    1. Thanks for the recommendation! It’s such a relief to find a series that doesn’t suffer from Second Book Syndrome, or wrap things up in a way that’s really disappointing in the final volume. I will definitely check Jackaby out!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great list! The Illuminae Files is one of my absolute favorite series currently. I recommend it so highly, but I also wouldn’t blame you a bit if you waited until the end of this year or early next year to start it, since the final book doesn’t release until March 2018. 😦 Here is my T10T!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Oh that’s good to know about the final book, I wasn’t aware that it hadn’t been published yet! In that case I think you’re right, saving it for 2018 might be a good idea…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m about halfway through Illuminae and it is quite an experience! The Jackaby first book was pretty good just a few problems… Mistborn is VERY long but equally as good, so creative! I have a couple of the others on my list as well… ❤️🌈👍🏻 Such a good list!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Why didn’t I think of Brandon Sanderson?! So many of my friends are HUGE fans, but the books are just so big that they terrify the bejesus out of me.
    Definitely agreeing on the Jackaby series, too. I only heard about it a couple of weeks ago, but it sounds AMAZING!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s so much harder to want to pick up an established series with that many pages. I’m usually a fan of big books, but there’s something intimidating with getting into a large series later!

      Like

  4. If you are at all into audiobooks the Illumiae audiobook is amazing. Full cast, music, sound effects. Daughter of the Forest and Fables are both awesome. I have had Jackaby on my list forever, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t really listened to many audiobooks, mostly I think because I don’t drive so I tend to just pick up the print copy of a book I want to read, but I would like to try more audiobooks so it’s good to know which ones are worth reading. Thanks for the recommendations! 🙂

      Like

  5. I feel the exact same about the Jackabey books! I love the covers and it’s probably 80% of the reason I want to read them. I’ve also had Illuminae and Mistborn on my shelf for the longest time, but my mood just hasn’t lead me to them yet. I definitely agree that the size and scope of Brandon Sanderson’s books intimidate me as well, and I feel like if I start them I really need to commit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so rarely this swayed by a book cover, but they really are gorgeous! I’m glad I’m not alone! I think as interesting as it sounds I”m going to leave Illuminae until the final book comes out, and we’ll see about Sanderson. It’s definitely a commitment!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, happy (belated now) TTT to you too! I do love fantasy books with strong worldbuilding! Everyone who has read them seems to have really positive things to say about Sanderson’s books so I need to commit and start reading the series soon I think.

      Like

  6. Several of these are also on my own list! I’d really recommend checking out Ken Liu’s “The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories” short story collection, I gave it 5 stars on goodreads! TBH, I wasn’t a big fan of The Paper Menagerie” itself, but the rest were very good too;)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great, I’m glad our lists overlap! 🙂 I’d heard a lot of great things about The Paper Menagerie story collection, so that’s on my list to read for sure even though I’m not usually as interested in short stories as I am in full length novels.

      Like

  7. I also have not read The Illuminae Files. I saw so much hype when Gemina came out and I know they’re a non-traditional style, so that makes me excited. I’m not sure what’s holding me back, haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so funny but with some books I have that feeling too. The book looks really interesting, I keep meaning to read it, but for whatever reason it takes me awhile to get to the book, and when I do I usually wonder why on earth I waited so long!

      Like

  8. The Farseer trilogy is great, I have fond memories of reading those, but she is tough on her characters. 🙂 Fitz goes through a lot! I kinda feel the same way about Sanderson- I need to start somewhere and not sure where. Maybe The Stormlight Archives? I honestly don’t know!

    I can say Illuminae is really good, although I thought the sequel Gemina was even better. That one was awesome! And I liked Queen of the Tearling, mostly, but totally stalled out in book two. That’s kind of a hit or miss series for people, definitely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I tend to enjoy it when authors put their characters through hell, even though it can make for a tension-filled reading experience, so this makes me want to read Robin Hobb’s Farseer books even more! I’m glad it’s not just me who is unsure of where to start with Sanderson’s body of work!

      It’s always a relief when the sequel not only lives up to expectations but is better than the first book in a series – I’ll definitely be checking Illuminae and Gemina out at some point. It’s really interesting to hear about Queen of the Tearling being so uneven, I guess that explains the love it or hate it reviews I’ve been seeing. Thanks for all of your comments, I really appreciate the input! 🙂

      Like

    1. If you’re ever interested in tackling either one at the same time let me know! I have the first books in each series sitting on my shelf as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

