Liebster Award

Over the last month or so I’ve been tagged in a bunch of different book tags by you lovely people that I haven’t gotten to, so I just wanted to say how much I appreciate it, and that I will definitely do them, it just might take me a few weeks to catch-up!

In May Darque Dreamer Reads nominated me for the Liebster Award. She has a wonderful blog with insightful reviews and really gorgeous bookish photos, so definitely go check out her blog! Thank you so much for this award!

liebster-award

The rules for this award are:
1. Thank the person who nominated you.
2. Answer 11 questions about yourself.
3. Give 11 interesting facts about yourself.
4. Nominate 11 other bloggers.

11 Interesting Facts About Me:
* Despite being a Canadian English major and having a Master of Library and Information Science degree, I have never read any of Margaret Atwood’s works! (I’m hoping to get to a few this year though.)

* I can’t play a musical instrument to save my life.

* I don’t own a smartphone. My phone is kind of archaic and can manage e-mail and, on a good day, Facebook (but it sucks the battery like crazy). At times I think it would be really handy to have a smartphone, but it’s also kind of nice to disconnect a little from social media, at least while I’m at work.

* I have a deep and abiding hatred of peppers – red, green, yellow, hot, not, I don’t like the taste of peppers and get irrationally frustrated when they’re in a food where I don’t expect them (why would you put peppers in a tuna wrap!?!).

* My ideal weather is probably partly cloudy, with limited wind, and a temperature in the low-mid-twenties Celsius (That’s about 68 to 77 Fahrenheit for my American friends). Extreme heat and humidity and frigid windchill winters are not my favourite times of year.

* The only sport I watch and follow is baseball (go Blue Jays!).

* I also don’t have an eReader, although I’m waffling on that. eReader users, are there any brands you’ve liked, didn’t like, things I should look for if I get one? Problems you’ve had with them? My only must is that it has to be compatible with the Toronto Public Library system.

* I love cool colours, so green and blue are my favourite colours, closely followed by purple.

* I have no sense of direction at all. If I have a map and there are only two directions to turn in, I will probably turn the wrong way.

* My favourite genres to read are Sci-fi & Fantasy, YA, and historical fiction.

* I LOVE reading outside. When the weather is nice you can probably find me on my balcony, on a park bench, or by the pool with a book or two nearby!

Questions from Darque Dreamer:
Why did you start your blog?

There are a few reasons actually. Rachel and I had been chatting about potentially starting to book blog, so we got into this together. Blogging for me is a way to commit to and keep track of what I’ve been reading and what shows I’ve seen. I use goodreads avidly, but I don’t tend to write reviews, so it’s been valuable for me to get down my thoughts on a book while they’re fresh! Blogging is also a creative outlet. I like my job, but it doesn’t involve a lot of writing or creativity, so I wanted to exercise those abilities. Finally, of course, I’ve really enjoyed connecting with other readers and seeing what books they’re loving.

How do you spread the word about your blog?
I try to participate in either a Top Ten Tuesday or a T5W each week and share my post on the threads. Otherwise, I read and comment on what other people are blogging about, and hopefully they’ll check my blog out too. I’m still pretty new to book blogging though and this is definitely something I could improve on.

Who is your inspiration?
In life? My mom. We’re really close and she’s a wonderful person, who has always supported me and given me the freedom and the support to do anything I want to do.

Do you have a particular talent?
This sounds awful to say on here, but generally writing is a talent of mine. It’s always been something I’m able to do and enjoy doing.

What is your favorite food?
I have a sweet tooth, so probably a dessert, like a nanaimo bar. Or, more generally, CHOCOLATE!

Do you have a career outside of blogging?
Yes, I work as a corporate librarian for a financial institution, so generally I do research, using paid-for databases and publicly available sources, that supports internal clients.

Are you an animal lover?
I am. I have a pet cockatiel, Poe, who I adore, and I like most animals (except spiders).

What kind of music do you like?
Mostly musical theatre cast recordings. Obviously I love Hamilton, but also The Last Five Years, Parade, A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder, Les Miserables, The Colour Purple, Bonnie and Clyde, etc. Besides musical theatre I like rock I guess, but I don’t listen to that much contemporary music.

What is your favorite book?
Singular book – Les Miserables. It’s a bit of a “project book”, meaning I set a number of pages a day to read and that helped me through some of the slower parts in this 1460 page novel, but it’s well-worth reading. Some beautiful turns of phrase, characters I loved so deeply, and very moving.

Series – The Lymond Chronicles by Dorothy Dunnett. They sucked me in and have never let go. The itch to re-read is always there. In the 1960s, having finished reading the types of books she loved, like Alexander Dumas’ works, Ms. Dunnett was persuaded by her husband to write the type of book she loved. The result is the dense, impeccably researched six-book Lymond Chronicles. She tends to throw the reader in headfirst with untranslated latin and french quotes appearing in the novel, but at other times the prose is so gorgeous that I had to stop and marvel “how do you words?!” My adoration for these books is never ending.

What is your favorite movie?
I’m not actually a big movie person (much more of a TV watcher) but a few I love are Pixar’s Ratatouille, my happy place movie, Inside Out (which I recommend for anyone who has ever suffered from depression, but bring tissues it made me bawl like a baby), Brokeback Mountain, Gattaca, The Lord of the Rings, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.

Where is your favorite vacation spot?
London, England. I always feel like I’ve left part of my heart there I adore London so much. the combination of architecture, history, culture, and the West End theatres is ideal for me. I don’t think I could ever get bored in London.

Do you play video games?
I don’t. With each gaming system my family got, I used it less and less, so although I did pretty well at the N64 (Donkey Kong, Banjo Kazooie, and Mario Kart were favs), and the Game Boy Colour, I was so-so at the GameCube, and barely used the Wii. I’ve never used a PlayStation.

My Questions: 
(re-using a couple here since they were really great questions)
1. Why did you start your blog?
2. How do you spread the word about your blog?
3. Which author (living or dead) would you most like to/like to have met?
4. What’s your favourite beverage?
5. What’s one of your biggest pet peeves?
6. What is the best book you had to read for school?
7. How do you organize your books on goodreads?
8. What kind of music do you not like, and why?
9. If you won an all-expenses paid trip to anywhere in the world, where would you go?
10. What’s your favourite holiday?
11. Are you a morning person or a night owl?

I nominate:
Ella @ A Book Without End
Steph @ Lost Purple Quill
Elise @ The Bookish Actress
Dani @ Perspective of a Writer
Bentley @ Book Bastion

As always, feel free to ignore if you’ve already been tagged or aren’t interested in doing this!

Thanks for reading this (very long) post!

 

 

18 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. I can’t believe you’re not good with directions and you don’t have a smartphone!!! I’m actually pretty good with directions and I still feel like I would die without Google maps. What do you do when you go to New York?!

    I don’t remember if we’ve talked specifically about my Kindle situation, but I have two – the very basic Kindle and the Kindle fire that I got because my coworker wound up with an extra one and he let me have it for $30 which was a pretty great deal. I actually prefer the regular Kindle and I rarely use the tablet functions of the fire, so it’s not worth the list price imo. But I actually think the Kindle paperwhite is the way to go – it doesn’t have a screen glare like the fire, but there’s a light so you can read at night, which my basic Kindle doesn’t have.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well it helps that I’ve always been to New York with other people. Actually having a smartphone wouldn’t help with that anyway though since I wouldn’t be paying for a plane that covered two countries. Usually I just do my research in advance and write things down with detailed instructions.

      One of the few problems with being in Canada – the Kindle isn’t compatible with our Library eBook systems generally. 😦 Possibly the Kindle Fire is actually, but generally it’s a Kobo or going for a full tablet or something instead.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That makes sense! I didn’t have a smartphone when I lived in Europe, I just bought paper maps everywhere I went. But I’m also not a huge plan ahead person, especially when I go somewhere like New York where I’ve been enough that I don’t have a list of things I Need to do. I like going to a cafe for breakfast and pulling out my phone and googling what’s nearby and then deciding there what I’ll do that day.

        Oh noooo that is tragic 😭 yeah unless you can get a really good price on the Fire imo it’s not worth it. My mom has an iPad and it’s just such a superior tablet. Are the library systems compatible with Nooks?

        Like

      2. My mom and I have always been super organized and planned when we go to NYC – what trains to take, what we’re doing, tickets purchased for all shows ahead of time, etc. – so just lots of written instructions, but when I go with friends generally we have down some of the shows we’re seeing and some of the places we’re eating and maybe a thing or two we want to do. Theatre friend goes to NYC a lot (twice a year) so she has a good idea of where to find things and less qualms about using a smartphone. If I get really stuck, I usually have my ipod on me (to take photos) and NYC has free wifi on the subways, so I just look things up on the platform.

        No, we don’t have Barnes and Noble in Canada at all, so no Nooks either sadly. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      3. When I travel I’m either like that or I don’t have any plans whatsoever – there is no in between. This is why I can never figure out if my Myers Briggs type ends in J or P, for me it just depends a lot on the situation?? Somewhere I’ve never been I obviously want to maximize my time and plan as much as possible, but with somewhere like New York where I’ve done all the touristy things already I like to leave it open-ended.

        Ohhh duh that makes sense! But ugh that’s so unfortunate 😩 I still can’t believe you can’t use Kindles, I thought Amazon was taking over the world!

        Like

  2. Okay so you have so many great answers! I LOVE London England and would die to live there, lol. I always say to visit Paris but live in London!! I LOVE birds for pets!! Ack, what I wouldn’t give to have a cockatiel, you are so blessed! My mom is my inspiration as well… Unfortunately I CAN’T read outside, I just can’t do it! (No one is perfect #sorrynotsorry) Anyways, I loved learning so much about you!!

    Okay I have to say if you’re investing in a book reader I’d say to get a smart phone instead… but if that is not an option I’d get a tablet of some kind. I have an ipad mini which is the perfect size to do some blog hopping and commenting and email, even a simple post and everything plus it is my ereader and I get the best of ALL worlds with a kindle app and ibooks, my library reading app and even a pdf reader for ARCs (when publishers won’t do .MOBI), so I am totally covered! Can’t wait to hear what you end up with though – I hope you share!!

    And THANK YOU for nominating me!! What a HUGE honor you’ve given me!! Plus I LOVE TAGS and AWARDS! They are so fun! I’m behind but will get to it this next month (hopefully if all works well)!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed learning a bit more about me!

      I’ve always had birds for pets (a budgie when I was really young, and then a cockatiel growing up, and my own now) and I love them. If I didn’t have a bird I’d consider a cat, I like cats as well, but birds are a lot of fun and very affectionate and curious. Aww I’m sorry you can’t read outside though (it’s okay, I forgive you ;))

      Canadian phone plans are ridiculously expensive, and I think I’d find the screen too small to read on for me personally, so I’m leaning towards either a dedicated eReader or a tablet, but I haven’t looked into it too much yet. I’ll definitely let everyone know if I take a eReader plunge!

      You’re very welcome, I always enjoy reading your blog and I’m happy to pass on the tagging/award giving fun!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too! It really was a great gaming system. I’ve thought about getting into gaming, but between Netflix, theatre, and books I probably don’t need another way to spend my spare time! Unfortunately Kindles generally aren’t compatible with the Library eBook systems here in Canada. I suspect it’s an Overdrive thing or possibly a copyright thing (i should ask one of my public librarian friends about this), but I think only the Kindle Fire is compatible, and I really want an eReader that I can borrow library books on. At the moment I’m thinking about a Kobo or a tablet, but I haven’t done much research yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the tag!! I also LOVE reading outside, if the weather is even halfway decent I’ll go read on my deck instead of in the house. I also love reading in the grass, I get jealous of people with nice lawns because mine isn’t great, because I know I’d spend so much time reading out there, lol. And I was going to recommend a Kindle Paperwhite, but I saw in an earlier comment they’re not great for Canada??? Not cool!! If they ever change the library ebook system, the Paperwhite is the way to go- they’re more for books and less for browsing the internet, and have a great battery life and low glare. I wish they were compatible!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES a fellow outside reader, that’s awesome! I know what you mean, when I lived with my parents, or was home on breaks between semesters at grad school, they had this shaded swing in the backyard. Sitting out there with bare feet in the grass and a book was pretty much ideal. My apartment balcony lacks grass, but I still love it, and it’s easy to pop back inside for a refill on my tea, water, or cider. My apartment pool is just about to open as well, so I’m really excited about that! Nothing like going for a swim and then reading as you dry off.

      Yes, I really need to talk to a public librarian friend and ask why it is that Kindles aren’t compatible with the library’s Overdrive eBook system in Canada! They really do look ideal, and I appreciate the eReader recommendation anyway in case the library system changes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

