The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

I was tagged by my book book blogging partner-in-crime Rachel, who is eloquent, and honest, and has recommended some fabulous books, so if you’re not already following her blog, definitely check it out!

1.) A popular book or book series that you didn’t like.

28881There are definitely a few classics that fit this category, although I’m not sure how popular Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy and Catch-22 by Joseph Heller really are…

It takes A LOT for me to DNF a book. I’m one of those people who will stubbornly persist, even when I’m not enjoying something. Part of that is the fact that personally I don’t think it’s right to rate on goodreads, mark as read, or review books that you haven’t, in fact, read (I’d argue it’s more acceptable if you’ve made it through more than half of the book and DNF, but before that I don’t think personally agree with rating/reviewing). Part of it is optics and wanting to finish as much as possible for my goodreads challenge, and even it comes to reading a book with other people as part of a book club I’m even more stubborn. I DNF-ed Christopher Moore’s Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Friend. I made it halfway and was getting absolutely nothing out of it. I found the humour juvenile, I know at least some of the religious references were going right over my head, and I didn’t care for any of the characters. Even Jesus. I have friends who RAVE about this book though, so it’s clearly a to each your own kind of deal.

2.) A popular book or book series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

11516221I sorted my read shelf on Goodreads low to high and compared the average goodreads rating against books that I gave four or more stars to. Surprisingly one of the two books tied for lowest was The Scorpio Races by Erin Bow! I’m actually really shocked that the book only has a 3.43 on goodreads. Sure in the wake of The Hunger Games’ popularity the YA dystopia genre has been overrun, but I found this book fascinating. Basically a ruling AI prevents war between nations by making it mandatory that each ruler have a child, an heir under the age of eighteen who is held as a hostage to ensure good behavior. Whenever a nation declares war on another, the hostage’s life is forfeit. The book has a bisexual protagonist, a snarky AI character, and is set against a world where water rights are paramount. I did think the second book in the 7025002duology, which focuses more on questions of what it means to be human, was more engaging, but I really enjoyed this book.

The other book, the first in Arlene C. Harris’ Pont-au-change books is not exactly popular, so it doesn’t fit this category. Still, even though I get that it’s basically published fanfic (what if Javert and Valjean didn’t die) I think it’s really good published fanfic and I enjoyed this (unfinished) series a lot.

3.) An otp that you don’t like.

20s6hdvDoes it have to be a canon endgame otp? Because look, I know Mal is kind of a safe, boring match for Alina, I can see why the fandom would look elsewhere, but I really don’t understand the Alina/The Darkling shippers. He quite literally kills people!!! I know I’m in the minority here, but I just never ‘got’ the appeal of The Darkling as a character. He’s an interesting enough villain, but I feel almost as strongly about not understanding the appeal shipping him with Alina as I do about the idea of shipping Rey with Kylo Ren. Weirdly enough I don’t have strong feelings about who to pair Alina with though, just who NOT to pair her with! Although, if I were in her shoes, I would definitely have picked Nikolai.

4.) A popular book genre that you hardly reach for.

I love fantasy but I don’t have any interest at all in the Paranormal Fantasy/Urban Fantasy genre (magician or werewolf or demon hunter in a contemporary city kinds of books), let alone Paranormal Romance. I’ve tried reading paranormal fantasy books before and every time I’ve found the book disappointing, so I’m throwing in the towel unless it comes highly recommended by a reader and/or blogger I trust!

5.) A popular/beloved character that you do not like

j6n48zPeople seem to either love or hate Severus Snape, and I definitely fall into the latter category. I definitely don’t condone bullying and I can see why he would carry a grudge against James Potter, but I don’t think it’s right to inflict punishment on Harry for the sins of his father. Much like in ‘nice guy’ syndrome, Snape is not, in fact, a nice guy. He sides with the Deatheaters and makes racist comments, including against Lily herself. No wonder she doesn’t choose him! Sure Snape does covertly protect Harry, and he does end up on the right side of things, but I don’t think it’s enough to make amends for his past actions or to justify his treatment of Harry throughout the books.

6.) A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

20518872I don’t know that he counts as mainstream popular, but certainly Cixin Liu is popular in his native China and the translated versions of his series have all been nominated for Hugo Awards so I think he counts. As my co-worker said, when I asked her how she was finding The Three-Body Problem, “I feel like the author hates women”. There’s some interesting ideas in his work, especially for those more mathematically inclined, but there’s also a deep thread of misogyny that’s hinted at in the first book and hit me full force with The Dark Forest. I didn’t even attempt the final book in the series because I didn’t need another 500 pages of this level of misogyny where the female characters are all 1) evil, 2) make poor choices and doom humanity in the process, or 3) exist only as love interests/sexual objects for the more fleshed out male characters. Stay away from this series folks!

7.) A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing.

I am really, really over love triangles. Not only is it a YA cliché, I feel like it’s almost an easy out for the author. Need some conflict in your novel? Add a love triangle! Earlier this year The Love Interest was one of the more anticipated books because it looked like it would satirize and/or invert the classic love triangle trope, but it sadly fell flat leaving readers right back at square one. Personally I’ve never understood the prioritization of romantic love over other types (platonic, sibling, etc.) I would love to read more books that put friendship front and center (The Raven Cycle), or at least books where romantic subplots have their time in the spotlight but also have to take a backseat to group dynamics (like Six of Crows). If you have to include a love triangle, at least mix it up a little! Where are the bisexual and/or same-sex love triangles, or at least the ones that don’t obviously set the characters involved up as contrasts right down to their physical appearances (fair vs. dark)!!

8.) A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Like Rachel, I have no interest in reading anything written by Cassandra Clare or Sarah J. Maas. Cassandra Clare because honestly I don’t trust an author who has once been accused of plagiarism, and Sarah J. Maas I’ve heard really conflicting opinions on, but her books just don’t look like something that would appeal to me.

9.) The saying goes “the book is always better than the movie,” but what movie or tv show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

6737961I haven’t read the series (see above), but I do enjoy Shadowhunters as a guilty pleasure. From what I’ve heard, it seems to do better by its characters than the book series does, plus it’s filmed in my city!

Also, like Rachel, I enjoyed the movie version of Brooklyn by Colm Toibin more than the book. I found the pacing of the book to be really off, the main character of Eilis fairly wishy-washy and hard to understand, and I didn’t like one of her love interests at all. The movie was such a bright presence visually, Saoirse Ronan was really likable as Eilis, and seems to have more agency than she does in the book, and her love interest was actually really sweet, so the triangle was a true triangle.

What do you think of my choices? Leave a comment and let me know!

I’ve seen this tag around a lot so I won’t tag anyone in particular, but if you think it looks interesting and would like to give it a try, please link back to me so I can read your answers!

11 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. I loved reading your answers! I’m with you 100% on Snape.

    Every time I see someone say how much they hate love triangles, I just feel really bad for YA readers that that’s something you guys need to contend with so often. I hate them too, but I just don’t see them often enough that I ever think to complain about them. It’s just lazy writing more often than not and I HATE that it’s what marketing always hones in on to sell the book. I’ll never be over The Hunger Games being reduced to #teampeeta vs. #teamgale – as if that even mattered at all with everything else going on in those books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I mean, I don’t even read that much YA so it’s not as huge a deal I think as for those who read it more often, but I just find it is such sloppy writing most of the time. There are ways to make a love triangle more interesting and it always seems to be the same conventions. I read a really interesting article about how the article writer’s main problem with love triangles is that it isn’t even the heroine’s choice in the end, usually something makes her choice for her and takes the agency out of her hands (like the whole Gale’s involvement in Primrose’s death reveal in The Hunger Games). I don’t know how often that really happens, but it was really interesting to read about. The Hunger Games is a particularly awful example of love triangles in general though because it was just so unnecessary in the wake of the larger issues in that book. Super frustrating that it was reduced to that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my god YES I have always HATED THAT about THG…. like if I had to choose between them (which I don’t want to because Katniss is asexual THE END) I’d absolutely choose #teampeeta, but the way it transpired really rubbed me the wrong way because it never really felt like Katniss’s choice. That’s really a shame that stripping female leads of their agency appears to be such a popular narrative device.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I 5000% agree with you about the Alina/Darkling pairing, and in general I’m not a fan of the “attracted to the villain” trope, but I was so afraid it might actually turn canon. I wasn’t a huge fan of the Darkling in general, he was so manipulative I didn’t have much sympathy for him even though he had a sad past, lol. But mostly I agree with you that Nikolai would have been my choice too, hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad!! I remember finishing the books and being so excited about seeing what the fandom was like, and at least the corner I found was about 90% heart eyes over The Darkling and upset that this pairing didn’t canonically come to pass and I NOPEd right back out of there. I was so close to also putting The Darkling down as the popular character I didn’t like! I just don’t get the appeal at all, I didn’t have much sympathy for him either. As a villain I think he’s interesting, but not particularly likable or a viable romantic choice for Alina… especially when Nikolai is right there!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Usually it’s easy to win my sympathy, but the Darkling was just so……unappealing. I’m just so not into the dark sexy guy when he is actually a jerk, lol. Nikolai gets the short end of the stick from Alina AND the fandom!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. When it comes to characters, I don’t like villains and antagonists that much. One thing I do disagree on is love triangles, which I enjoy and I have not seen much of them to get annoyed by them

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t mind a well constructed antagonist, or even a villain, but I generally don’t understand the attracted to the villain trope or entertain the possibility of a pairing between the heroine and the villain. Reformed villains maybe, if there’s enough of a redemption arc and it’s done over a long period of time. It’s great that you enjoy love triangles and that you don’t read about them often enough to find them annoying!

      Like

      1. Now that you mention pairing between a heroine and villain, that sounds odd. Over the summer, I read nine different books. The love triangles I have fallen in love with happen be those from musicals.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have to admit, I don’t find love triangles as heinous in musicals for some reason, perhaps because they do make for some great songs! I don’t mind the Cosette-Marius-Eponine or the sort-of triangles in Hamilton, or the Sibella-Monty-Phoebe relationship in A gentleman’s guide to love and murder (the resolution of this one in particular I adore). In literature, I generally don’t enjoy the love triangles very much though (especially in YA, they’re generally handled better in adult fiction).

        Like

      3. Elphaba-Glinda-Fiyero was the first love triangle I emotionally bonded with in musicals and also my favorite. Cosette-Marius-Eponine is another love triangle I love in musicals, which helped strengthen the one in Wicked. One more love triangle I love in musicals is Phantom-Christine-Raoul. All three of these bring something unique and I do feel emotionally connected to all three of them

        Like

Leave a comment